Fr. v.: Maria Grahn (CTH), Rafael Pereira (IPEA), Yusak Susilo (KTH), Sonia Yeh (CTH),Torbjörn Holmström (VREF), Karin Lundgren (CTH/VREF)

                                                                                                                                                           Photo: AnnaLisaFoto

The Håkan Frisinger award

On behalf of the Håkan Frisinger Foundation for Transportation Research, the Volvo Research and Educational Foundations is honoured to invite Rectors, Heads of Department, Superintendents, Deans, Research Directors within Swedish Universities, Swedish Institutes and Swedish organisations related to the fields of transportation research, to submit their nominations for the yearly awarded Scholarship.

The Håkan Frisinger Foundation for Transportation Research annually awards a scholarship to a prominent researcher with SEK 250,000.

The proposals shall normally be submitted no later than September 15.

The nomination will comprehend a nomination letter of max one A4-formated page and the CV of the nominated candidate.

The decision about the award is usually taken by the Board of the Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF) during the December Board Meeting. The Award Ceremony and its related seminar usually take place during the early spring that follows the decision of the Board.

Please, take contact with our secretariat in order to know more about the nomination’s process.

Since the start of the FUT programme in 2000, the laureates are:

  • 2018 - Professor Sonia Yeh, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2017 - Professor Jonas Sjöberg, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2016 - Professor Louise Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2015 - Professor Mats Svensson, Chalmers University of Technology together with Associate Professor Astrid Linder, Swedish National Road and Transport Research Institute
  • 2014 - Professor Margareta Friman, Karlstads University
  • 2013 - Professor Lars Nielsen, Linköping University​
  • 2012 - Professor Ingemar Denbratt, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2011 - Professor Annika Stensson Trigell, the Royal Institute of Technology
  • 2010 - Professor Bengt Johansson, Lunds University
  • 2009 - Professor Magnus Skoglundh, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2008 - Associate Professor Pål Börjesson, Lunds University
  • 2007 - Professor Wolfgang Kropp, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2006 - Professor Marcus Aldén, Lunds University
  • 2005 - Professor Bo Egardt, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2004 - Professor Michael Patriksson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2003 - Professor Bengt Andersson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2002 - Assistant Professor Dag Wedelin, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 2001 - Professor Per Lövsund, Chalmers University of Technology
November 2020
Upcoming Events
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
v44              1
v45  2 3 4 5 6 7 8
v46  9 10 11 12 13 14 15
v47  16 17 18 19 20 21 22
v48  23 24 25 26 27 28 29
v49  30            


The VREF invites Sub-Saharan based researchers with expertise on sustainable and equitable
mobility and access or related areas, and strong interest in carrying out interdisciplinary research. Open for application until 2020-09-29


The VREF invites PhD students and advanced master students from Sub-Saharan African (SSA) universities to apply for a Mobility Grant (MG) to support a visit to another SSA university with up to SEK 25 000.


The VREF invites PhD students and researchers in early stages of their career to apply for a Study Visit Grant to be supported with up to SEK 30 000.

Each year the Håkan Frisinger Foundation for Transportation Research awards a scholarship to a prominent researcher.


Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarships for Sustainable Transport and Energy Efficiency targets supporting the momentum of Lee Schipper’s contribution to the international policy dialogue in these fields.

This yearly award is aimed at supporting young individual researchers and students in is pursuance.

Call extended to April 30, 2020 due to COVID19.


Blog! Blog! Blog!

Global Mobility Research

This Meeting of the Minds' blog monthly releases interviews of global transportation researchers from the VREF's Future Urban Transport Program Network.


This CityFix series, produced by the WRI (World Ressources Institute) Ross Center for Sustainable Cities and supported by the VREF, discusses walking and cycling in cities with a special focus on low- and middle-income countries.

About VREF

The Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF) inspires, initiates and supports research and educational activities through the Future Urban Transport Programme - How to deal with the complexity of urban transport (FUT). 

Our Vision: Sustainable transport for equitable access in urban areas

Read more

© Copyright VREF