Professor Anoop Chawla is the new owner of the IIT-Delhi's Volvo Chair.

The Committee of the Volvo Chair, established in 2002 in agreement with the VREF and the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (IIT-Delhi), nominated Professor Anoop Chawla as the new owner of the Chair for a three-year-period.

Basically on the joint initiative of VREF and its Delhi's Centre of Excellence, TRIPP led by Professor Geetam Tiwari and late Professor Dinesh Mohan, it was decided to create a sponsored position as Associate Professor or Professor for Transportation Planning for Control of Accidents and Pollution with Special Reference to Non-Motorised Transport and Vulnerable Road Users later called Volvo Chair. The faculty member appointed to the Chair is associated with the Transportation Research and Injury Prevention Programme (TRIPP) at the Host institute (IIT-Delhi).

Each owner hold the Chair for a maximum of five years. The first owner of the Chair was Professor Dinesh Mohan, deceded in May 2021.

Mr. Anoop Chawla is a Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. He has received many distiguished Memberships and Awards.

Professor Chawla succeeds Professor Sudipto Mukherjee from IIT-Delhi's Department of Civil Engineering, and will hold the Chair until June 2023.

Read more about Prof. A.Chawla.

Details about the different Chairs at the IIT-Delhi can be found here.

October 2021
Upcoming Events
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
v39          1 2 3
v40  4 5 6 7 8 9 10
v41  11 12 13 14 15 16 17
v42  18 19 20 21 22 23 24
v43  25 26 27 28 29 30 31


VREF invites applications for research grants to support
projects to be implemented 2022 under the programme for “Mobility & Access in African Cities”.

Deadline: 15 September 2021

MOBILITY GRANT 2021- MAC-MG 2021PDF (pdf, 443.4 kB)

The VREF invites PhD students and advanced master students from Sub-Saharan African (SSA) universities to apply for a Mobility Grant (MG) to support a visit to another SSA university with up to SEK 25 000.


The VREF invites PhD students and researchers in early stages of their career to apply for a Study Visit Grant to be supported with up to SEK 30 000.

CALL FOR NOMINATION FOR the Håkan Frisinger Award for Excellence in Transportation Research

The VREF invites universities located in Sweden to nominate candidates for The Håkan Frisinger Award (Håkan Frisingers pris till framstående transportforskare) and apply for a VREF Visiting Researcher Grant for the nominated candidate.

Closed on 2021-03-15.

Read more...PDF (pdf, 233.8 kB)

Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarships for Sustainable Transport and Energy Efficiency targets supporting the momentum of Lee Schipper’s contribution to the international policy dialogue in these fields.

This yearly award is aimed at supporting young individual researchers and students in is pursuance.

Call deadline: March 1, 2021 .


Blog! Blog! Blog!

Global Mobility Research

This Meeting of the Minds' blog monthly releases interviews of global transportation researchers from the VREF's Future Urban Transport Program Network.


This CityFix series, produced by the WRI (World Ressources Institute) Ross Center for Sustainable Cities and supported by the VREF, discusses walking and cycling in cities with a special focus on low- and middle-income countries.

About VREF

The Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF) inspires, initiates and supports research and educational activities through the Future Urban Transport Programme - How to deal with the complexity of urban transport (FUT). 

Our Vision: Sustainable transport for equitable access in urban areas


© Copyright VREF